

# **Meeting Notes**

Project 2007-17 Protection System Maintenance and Testing Standard Drafting Team

April 17-19, 2012

Oncor Fort Worth, TX

### **Administrative**

# 1. Introductions

The meeting was brought to order by the Charles Rogers at 8:00 a.m. CT on Tuesday, April 17, 2012. Sam Francis provided the team with building and safety information/logistics. Each participant was introduced; those in attendance were:

Name	Company	Member/ Observer	In Person	Conference Call/Web
Charles W. Rogers, Chair	Consumers Energy	Member	Х	
John Anderson	Excel Energy, Inc	Member	Х	
Rick Ashton	Tri-State G & T Association, Inc.	Member	Х	
Bob Bentert	Florida Power & Light Co.	Member	Х	
Forrest Brock	Western Farmers Electric Cooperative	Member	Х	
Aaron Feathers	Pacific Gas and Electric Company	Member	Х	
Samuel Francis	Oncor Transmission	Member	Х	
Dave Harper	NRG	Member	Х	
James M. Kinney	First Energy	Member	Х	
Kristina Marriott	ENOSERV	Member	Х	

Name	Company	Member/ Observer	In Person	Conference Call/Web
Michael Palusso	South California Edison Company	Member		Х
Mark Peterson	Great River Energy	Member	Х	
John E. Schechter	American Electric Power	Member	Х	
Eric Udren	Quanta Technology	Member		Х
Matthew Westrich	American Transmission Company, LLC	Member	Х	
Philip B. Winston	Georgia Power Company	Member	Х	
John Zipp	ITC Holdings	Member	Х	
Tom Bradish	FERC	Observer	Х	
Bill Cantor	TPI	Observer	Х	
Richard Ferner	WAPA	Observer		Х
Michael Gerken	NU	Observer	Х	
Nik Hindle	Hindle Power	Observer	Х	
Wayne Johnson	EPRI	Observer	Х	
Amelia Lewis	FERC	Observer		Х
Art Salander	Hindle Power	Observer	Х	
Chris Searles	BAE Batteries	Observer	Х	
Rick Tressler	Alber	Observer	Х	
Daniel Wohlmarium	FERC	Observer		Х
Andrew Dressel	NERC Staff	Member	Х	

Name	Company	Member/ Observer	In Person	Conference Call/Web
Al McMeekin	NERC Staff	Member	Х	

# 2. Determination of Quorum

The rule for NERC Standard Drafting Team (SDT or team) states that a quorum requires two-thirds of the voting members of the SDT. Quorum was achieved as 17 of 23 total members were present.

# 3. NERC Antitrust Compliance Guidelines and Public Announcement

NERC Antitrust Compliance Guidelines and public announcement were reviewed by Al McMeekin. There were no questions raised.

## 4. Roster Updates

The team reviewed the roster and confirmed that it was accurate and up to date.

# **Agenda**

#### 1. Actions

- a. Members of the IEEE Stationary Battery Committee were present and much discussion centered on battery maintenance activities described in the latest versions of PRC-005-2 and the supporting Supplementary Reference and FAQ document. The drafting team was appreciative of the IEEE efforts in drafting additional materials for inclusion in the Supplementary Reference and FAQ document.
- b. The team completed the responses to comments document from the previous posting and ballot period.
- c. The team completed preparation of all relevant documents for the next posting and balloting period.
- d. The team developed the posting questions for the next posting and balloting period.
- e. The Implementation Plan was revised to state that the four legacy standards would be retired upon full implementation of PRC-005-2 rather than upon the Effective Date.

#### 2. Action Item Review

- a. Mr. McMeekin to complete preparation of all documents and send to Quality Review.
- b. Mr. McMeekin to schedule next meeting depending upon actual posting date.
- c. Mr. McMeekin to perform a thorough scrubbing and clean-up of Supplementary Reference and FAQ document.



- d. The following volunteer assignments were made for preliminary responses to the posting questions:
  - Q1 Sam Francis, John Anderson, John Zipp, Phil Winston
  - Q2 Kristina Marriott, Bob Bentert, Jim Kinney, and Rick Ashton
  - Q3 Mike Gerken, John Schechter, and Matt Westrich

Forrest Brock and Mark Peterson offered to help any of the teams above if needed.

# 3. Future meeting(s)

To be determined: June or July 2012 – PGE, San Francisco; Oncor, Ft. Worth; FP&L, Miami.

# 4. Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m. CT on April 19, 2012.