

## Minutes Cyber Security Order 706 SDT — Project 2008-06

August 26, 2010 | 12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.

Joe Bucciero welcomed members and other participants, took roll call and provided the Anti-trust guidance. 14 members of the SDT joined on the call. Chair John Lim set forth the agenda noting it was not a decision-making meeting but a review of progress on the CIP 002-4 documents that need to be reviewed and adopted by the Team for posting.

Dave Revill provided an overview of the CIP 002-4 Implementation Plan sub-team's work since the Chicago meeting and answered questions regarding the proposal. John Lim provided an overview of the draft of the CIP 002-4 Guidance Document that will be refined for presentation at the CSO706 SDT meeting in Winnipeg. Joe Doetzl suggested that a different title for the CIP 002-4 Guidance Document be considered as to avoid confusion with the "Identifying Critical Cyber Assets" guidance document that was recently released by CIPC and approved.

John Lim noted the CIP 002-4 NERC standards and legal edits have been circulated. It was noted an additional criteria in Attachment 1, 1.16 (Any facility declared critical by a regulatory agency) was added by NERC staff and will need to be reviewed as part of the document approval process in Winnipeg to determine whether it will remain in the standard text as part of the posting. Also the control center vs. control room discussion, including their geographical locations, which is part of the CIPC guidance document should be considered.

Jackie Collett noted she was developing the Summary Response for Attachment 2, CIP-010 for the purpose of filing with the CIP-002-4 documents and would circulate a draft in advance of Winnipeg. Updates from each of the CIP-011 Sub-team Leads (Phil Huff for Jay Cribb, Sharon Edwards, David Revill, Doug Johnson, Tom Stevenson for Scott Rosenberger) were provided, and each discussed their progress regarding preparation of a summary response to the Industry Comments and Dallas Workshop Comments. It was agreed that the sub-teams will complete the review of the Dallas Workshop transcript by the Winnipeg meeting, so that it can be posted on the NERC project site for Project 2008-06 (CSO706). The sub-teams will also complete the summary response to the Industry comments received with the informal posting of CIP-010, since these requirements are very close to those in CIP-002-4. The SDT will continue to work on the responses to the CIP-011 comments, and will finalize the summary response to those comments following the adoption of the Framework sub-team's work for CIP-011. The target is to post these responses to comments along with the posting of the revised CIP-010 and CIP-011 standards in 2011.

The Framework sub-team, appointed in Chicago and led by Dave Norton, reported on their first meeting noting they have established a meeting schedule and will be ready to present their preliminary approach



at the October meeting in Toronto. He noted that the SDT will need to clarify early on what protecting ourselves means. What are we trying to protect, and what are we trying to protect against?

Howard Gugel and Scott Mix provided an update on the CIP 005-4 Urgent Action SAR Posting & Status. Pre-ballot review of the SAR is scheduled to complete on September 17, 2010.

It was noted that the Chicago draft meeting summary has been circulated to the SDT and will be reviewed in Winnipeg. The Winnipeg agenda will be circulated following the Leadership Team Call scheduled for next Tuesday (August 31).

The meeting adjourned at 1:55 p.m.



## CSO706 SDT Full Team Conference Call August 26, 2010 Agenda

- 1. Roll Call and Anti-Trust Guidelines
- 2. Progress reports on:
  - · Implementation Plan for CIP-002-4 (Scott Mix/Dave Revill)
  - · Guidance Document for CIP-002-4 (John Lim)
  - · Any additional input on CIP-002-4 Draft (All)
- 3. Summary Response for Attachment 2, CIP-010 (Jackie Collett)
- Updates from Subteam Leads on Response to Industry Comments and Dallas Workshop Comments (Jay Cribb, Sharon Edwards, David Revill, Doug Johnson, Scott Rosenberger, Scott Mix)
- 5. CIP 005-4 Urgent Action SAR Posting & Status
- 6. Framework Sub-Team Progress Report (Norton)
- 7. Review of Action Items
- 8. Schedule for Next CSO706 SDT Meeting (Winnipeg, Manitoba)
- 9. Other Topics



## SDT Members Attending via ReadyTalk and Phone

1. Rob Antonishen	Ontario Power Generation	
2. Jim Brenton	ERCOT	
3.Jackie Collett	Manitoba Hydro	
4.Joe Doetzl	Kansas City Pwr. & Light Co	
5. Sharon Edwards	Duke Energy	
6. William Gross	NEI	
7. Jeff Hoffman	U.S. Bureau of Reclamation, Denver	
8. Phillip Huff, Vice Chair	Arkansas Electric Coop Corporation	
9. Doug Johnson	Exelon Corporation – Commonwealth Edison	
10. John Lim, Chair	Consolidated Edison Co. NY	
11. David Norton	Entergy	
12. David S. Revill	Georgia Transmission Corporation	
13. Tom Stevenson	Constellation Energy	
14William Winters	Arizona Public Service, Inc.	
Scott Mix	NERC	
Howard Gugel	NERC	
Joe Bucciero	NERC/Bucciero Consulting, LLC	
Robert Jones	FSU/FCRC Consensus Center	
Stuart Langton	FSU/FCRC Consensus Center	
Hal Beardall	FSU/FCRC Consensus Center	

**SDT Members Not Participating** 

SD1 Weinbers Not 1 articipating		
Jay S. Cribb	Southern Company Services	
Gerald S. Freese	America Electric Pwr.	
Rich Kinas	Orlando Utilities Commission	
Patricio Leon	Southern California Edison	
Scott Rosenberger	Luminant	
Kevin Sherlin	Sacramento Municipal Utility District	
Jonathan Stanford	Bonneville Power Administration	
Keith Stouffer	National Institute of Standards & Technology	
John Van Boxtel	WECC	
John D. Varnell	Technology Director, Tenaska Power Services Co	
Bradley Yeates	Southern Nuclear Operating Company	

## **Other Participants**

Dave	Batz	dbatz@eei.org
David	Gordon	dgordon@mmwec.org
Rod	Hardiman	rchardim@southernco.com
Ashu	Mukherji	ashu.mukherji@pseg.com



Peter Brown peter.brown2@pgnmail.com David Jeon djeon@semprageneration.com Barry Lawson barry.lawson@nreca.coop Roger Fradenburgh rfradenburgh@netsectech.com Matt Dale matthew.dale@ferc.gov Travis Borrini tborrini@ameren.com lopez andres.lopez@usace.army.mil andres micahel.keane@ferc.gov Mike Keane Green robert.green@pseg.com Robert Justin Kelly Justin.Kelly@ferc.gov Bill Glynn bill.glynn@westarenergy.com hngo@rrienergy.com Hoang Ngo Ingrid Rayo ingrid.rayo@constellation.com Nathan Mitchell nmitchell@appanet.org James Fletcher irfletcher@aep.com Dan King daking@sempra.com